Introducing Mike

Do you all remember my mentioning that my humans and I went on a road trip in July and met a rescued mini schnauzer with behavior issues that needed a home? Well the dedicated and amazing volunteers and foster parents at Miniature Schnauzer Rescue, Inc.  worked with this rescued mini and got him ready for adoption…and we adopted him last weekend.

I would like to introduce my new brother Mike

Mike is 3 years old and likes to be very active. He is obsessed with playing ball. He bugs my humans all the time to go out to the backyard and throw the ball for him – he has ball OCD! I stand around and watch – I cannot imagine participating in such “dog-like” activities. I prefer activities like napping and staring at humans to get them to do what I want them to do.

Mike was surrendered by his family due to behavior issues and he is not so great when people come over the house – he is very territorial. He is also territorial on walks. My humans have been following up on the training started with the Miniature Schnauzer Rescue volunteers and I have noticed a significant improvement on his walks when other dogs or humans go pass us. We are going to work on calming him down more when visitors come over but right now we are focused on him getting used to our family. Mike is very sweet when we are all together and likes to cuddle with my humans. He has even tried to cuddle with me. I let him lay of my feet but that is as far as I am willing to go.

I think Mike will turn out to be a decent family dog for my humans and I to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

