Leading the Humans

Are you shocked – two posts from me in a 5 day period! I normally do not post that often because I am busy managing my humans and napping (my two main focuses in life).  I wanted to share what my adopted brother Mike is struggling with: he is feeling frustrated with his leash.  I explained to him that the purpose of wearing leashes is so we can lead humans around so they do not get lost. Humans without dogs attached generally look like they are wandering around clueless. Smart humans get a canine to help lead them around (or they can get a cat to direct them remotely).

I have a normal leash for leading my assigned human around. Mike, who did not receive proper leash instruction in his former home before adopted by my family, has to wear a “gentle leader” which goes around his nose. He hates his “gentle leader” and always tries to get it off.

Mike also likes to chew on leashes (as he does not get their real purpose – to lead humans around and let them think they are in control). He has chewed through a couple leashes including mine (I guess he thought he was freeing me). So Mike has a chain leash instead of a fabric leash. It makes a dragging sound when he walks around the house before a walk and no human is attached.

One day he was dragging it loudly down the hall and one of of humans said: “He sounds like the Ghost of Jacob Marley from Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carole who drags around chains and states he wears the chains he forged in life!”

I am hoping in time Mike will approach the wearing of leashes the same way I do – a way to “gently lead” humans!

Leave a Reply

