Humans are Okay (if they provide treats)

Originally posted on the Schnauzer Snips page on the tierneycreates blog on 11/18/2013 

I hope last week’s post did not scare my human readers. I have become bored with plans for world domination, as it will take time away from napping. Next week I would like to discuss my new obsession: taking out the Fed Ex and UPS trucks. This week, however, let’s keep it positive and focus on why I like humans: because they know where to get treats and provide them on a semi-regular basis (hourly would be more of an acceptable regular basis but I will settle with several times a day).

Speaking a treats, my human likes to cook and makes my brother Snickers and me homemade dog biscuits.  I wanted to share her recipe below to encourage other humans to bake for their dogs…regularly.

SCHNAUZER SNACKS

(Everyday Dog Biscuits)

2 tsp dry yeast

½ cup lukewarm water

2 Tbsp dried parsley

1.5 cups chicken broth

3 Tbsp honey or molasses

1 egg

5-6 cups whole wheat flour

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Stir in the parsley, broth, honey or molasses, and egg. Gradually blend in flour, adding enough to form a stiff dough.
  3. Transfer to a floured surface and knead until smooth (about 3-5 minutes). Shape the dough into a ball and roll to ¼ inch thick.  Using small hone shaped cookie cutters, make biscuits. Transfer to a greased baking sheet, spacing them about ¼ inch apart. Gather up scraps, roll out again and cut additional biscuits.
  4. Bake for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and turn over. Bake for an additional 15 minutes, or until lightly browned on both sides.  Turn off the oven and let the biscuits cool in the oven several hours of overnight.
  5. Makes several dozen small treats!
dscn1287.jpg

I secretly love my humans so much I fall asleep on their feet (especially once my tummy is full with homemade dogs biscuits!)

One thought on “Humans are Okay (if they provide treats)

Leave a Reply

